227. Registration Fee
A. Registration Fee of Attorneys and Attorney Judges
(1) General Provisions.
(a) Fees. On or before February 28 of each year, every attorney admitted to practice in
Colorado (including judges, those admitted on a provisional or temporary basis and those
admitted as judge advocate) shall annually file a registration statement and pay a fee as set by the
Colorado Supreme Court. As of 2014, the fees set by the court are as follows: the fee for active
attorneys is $325.00; the fee of any attorney whose first admission to practice is within the
preceding three years is $190.00; the fee for attorneys on inactive status is $130.00. All persons
first becoming subject to this rule shall file a statement required by this rule at the time of
admission, but no annual fee shall be payable until the first day of January following such
admission. As necessary to defray the costs of regulating attorneys, judges and those engaged in
unauthorized practice of law, the Supreme Court will authorize periodic increases to the annual
fee for every Colorado attorney.
(b) Collection of Fee. The annual fee shall be collected by the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Colorado, who shall send and receive the notices and statements provided for hereafter.
(c) Application of Fees. The fee shall be divided. Forty dollars shall be used to maintain an
Attorneys' Fund for Client Protection. The remaining portion of the fee, and the entire fee of
those on inactive status, shall be used only to defray the costs of the Office of Attorney
Regulation Counsel (admissions, registration, mandatory continuing legal and judicial education, attorney diversion and discipline counsel to Commission on Judicial Discipline, unauthorized practice of law and inventory counsel functions), the Office of the Presiding Disciplinary Judge, the Commission on Judicial Discipline, the Colorado Lawyers Assistance Program, the Colorado Attorney Mentoring Program, the Advisory and other regulatory committees and any other practice of law function deemed appropriate by the Supreme Court.
(d) Initial Registration of Non-Registered Attorneys. Every attorney admitted to practice in Colorado before January 1, 1974 who has not previously complied with the provisions of C.R.C.P. 227 may apply for registration with the clerk of the Supreme Court of Colorado by filing a registration statement and paying a fee of $100.00.
(a) Contents. The annual registration statement shall be on a form prescribed by the Clerk, setting forth (1) date of admission to the Bar of the Colorado Supreme Court, (2) registration number, (3) current residence and office addresses and, if applicable, a preferred mailing address for the Colorado Courts, along with current telephone numbers and email addresses; (4) certification as to (a) whether the attorney has been ordered to pay child support and if so, whether the attorney is in compliance with any child support order, (b) whether the attorney or the attorney's law firm has established one or more interest-bearing accounts for the client funds as provided in Colo. RPC 1.15, and if so, the name of the financial institution, or, if not, the reason for the exemption, and (c) with respect to attorneys engaged in the private practice of law, whether the attorney is currently covered by professional liability insurance and, if so, whether the attorney intends to maintain insurance during the time the attorney is in engaged in the private practice of law; and (5) such other information as the Clerk may from time to time direct.
(b) Notification of Change. Every attorney shall file a supplemental statement of change in the information previously submitted, including home and business addresses, within 30 days of such change. Such change shall include, without limitation, the lapse or termination of professional liability insurance without continuous coverage.
(c) Availability of Information. The information provided by the lawyer regarding professional liability insurance shall be available to the public through the Supreme Court Office of Attorney Registration and on the Supreme Court Office of Attorney Registration web site.
(a) Late Fee. Any attorney who pays the annual fee or files the annual registration statement after February 28 but on or before March 31 shall pay a late fee of $50.00 in addition to the registration fee. Any attorney who pays the annual fee or files the annual registration statement after March 31 shall pay a late fee of $150.00 for each such year, in addition to the registration fee.
(b) Receipt - Demonstration of Compliance. Within 30 days of the receipt of each fee and of each statement filed by an attorney in accordance with the provisions of this rule, receipt thereof shall be acknowledged on a form prescribed by the Clerk in order to enable the attorney on request to demonstrate compliance with the requirement of registration pursuant to this rule.
(c) Initial Pleading Must Contain Registration Number. Whenever an initial pleading is signed by an attorney, it shall also include thereon the attorney's registration number. Whenever an initial appearance is made in court without a written pleading, the attorney shall advise the court of the registration number. The number need not be on any subsequent pleadings.
(a) Failure to Pay Fee or File Statement - Notice of Delinquency. An attorney shall be summarily suspended if the attorney either fails to pay the fee or fails to file a complete statement or supplement thereto as required by this rule prior to May 1, provided a notice of delinquency has been issued by the clerk and mailed to the attorney addressed to the attorney's last known mailing address at least 30 days prior to such suspension, unless an excuse has been granted on grounds of financial hardship.
(b) Failure of Judge to Pay Fee or File Statement. Any judge subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission on Judicial Discipline or the Denver County Court Judicial Discipline Commission who fails to timely pay the fee or file a complete statement or supplement thereto as required by this rule shall be reported to the appropriate commission, provided a notice of delinquency has been issued by the Clerk and mailed to the judge addressed to the judge's last known business address at least 28 days prior to such reporting, unless an excuse has been granted on grounds of financial hardship.
(a) Application - Reinstatement Fee. Any attorney suspended under the provisions of Section (4)(a) above shall not be reinstated until application for reinstatement is made in writing and the Clerk acts favorably on the application. Each application for reinstatement shall be accompanied by a reinstatement fee of $100.00 and payment of all arrearages and late fees to the date of the request for reinstatement.
(b) Report Judge's Payment. If any judge who is reported to a commission under the provisions of section (4)(b) above subsequently makes payment of all arrearages, such payment shall be reported to the commission by the Clerk.
(6) Inactive Status.
(a) Notice. An attorney who has retired or is not engaged in practice shall file a notice in writing with the Clerk that he or she desires to transfer to inactive status and discontinue the practice of law.
(b) Payment of Fee - Filing of Statement. Upon the filing of the notice to transfer to inactive status, the attorney shall no longer be eligible to practice law but shall continue to pay the fee required under section (1)(a) above and file the statements and supplements thereto required by this rule on an annual basis.
(c) Exemption - Age 65. Any registered inactive attorney over the age of 65 is exempt from payment of the annual fee.
(7) Transfer to Active Status.
Upon the filing of a notice to transfer to inactive status and payment of the fee required under section (1)(a) above and any arrearages, if owed, an attorney shall be removed from the roll of those classified as active until and unless a request for transfer to active status is made and granted. Transfer to active status shall be granted, unless the attorney is subject to an outstanding order of suspension or disbarment, upon the payment of any assessment in effect for the year the request is made and any accumulated arrearages for non-payment of inactive fees.
An attorney may resign from the practice of law in Colorado upon order of the Supreme Court and thereby be excused from paying the annual registration fee provided that no disciplinary or disability matter or order is pending against the attorney. Any attorney who wishes to resign must petition the Supreme Court pursuant to this Rule and tender the attorney's certificate of admission with the petition. Any attorney who so resigns is not eligible for reinstatement or transfer to active or inactive status and may be admitted to the practice of law in Colorado only by complying with the rules governing admission to the practice of law. Any attorney who so resigns remains subject to the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court as set forth in Rule 251.1(b) with respect to the attorney's practice of law in Colorado.
Source: A.(1)(a) amended October 17, 1991, effective January 1, 1992; A.(8) added and effective October 15, 1992; A.(1)(c) amended June 25, 1998, effective June 30, 1998; A.(2)(a) and (3)(a) amended June 25, 1998, effective July 1, 1998; A.(1)(a) amended June 25, 1998, effective January 1, 1999; entire rule amended and adopted November 22, 2000, effective January 1, 2001; A.(1)(c) amended and adopted June 7, 2001, effective July 1, 2001; A.(1)(a) amended and adopted April 14, 2005, effective January 1, 2006; A.(1)(d) and (e) amended and effective March 16, 2006; A.(4)(a) amended and effective April 27, 2006. Amended and Adopted by the Court, En Banc, June 27, 2013, effective September 1, 2013.
B. Registration Fee of Non-attorney Judges
(1) Every non-attorney judge who is subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission on Judicial Discipline shall pay an annual fee of $10.00. The annual fee shall be collected by the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Colorado, who shall send and receive, or cause to be sent and received, the notices and fees provided for hereafter. The ten-dollar fee shall be used to pay the costs of establishing and administering the mandatory continuing legal education requirement. The clerk shall account for and forward these receipts to the Board of Continuing Legal and Judicial Education.
(2) Any non-attorney judge who fails to timely pay the fee required under subparagraph (1) above shall be reported to the Commission on Judicial Discipline, provided a notice of delinquency has been issued by the Clerk and mailed to the non-attorney judge by certified mail addressed to the county court in the respective county seat at least 28 days prior to such reporting, unless an excuse has been granted on grounds of financial hardship.
(3) If any non-attorney judge who is reported to the Commission on Judicial Discipline under the provisions of subparagraph (2) above subsequently makes payment of arrearages, such payment shall be reported to the Commission by the Clerk.
(4) On or before January 31 of each year, all non-attorney judges shall file any affidavit required by Rule 260.5 and shall pay the annual fee required by this rule.
(5) Within 20 days after the receipt of each fee in accordance with the provisions of subparagraph (4) above, receipt thereof shall be acknowledged on a form prescribed by the Clerk.
Pursuant to Colorado Rule of Professional Conduct 1.15, all
funds of clients paid to a lawyer or law firm shall be deposited in one
or more identifiable interest-bearing, insured depository accounts in
a financial institution approved by the Supreme Court Regulation Counsel.
The interest earned shall be paid to the client or to the Colorado Lawyer
Trust Account Foundation (COLTAF).
Pursuant to the Colorado Rule of Professional Conduct 1.15
and C.R.C.P. 227 (A) (2) (a), you are directed to provide the information
to determine compliance or justifiable reason for non-compliance with
Colorado Rule of Professional Conduct 1.15.
You should receive your compliance statement along with your
Attorney Registration Statement. If you do not receive a copy of your
compliance statement, please call the Attorney Registration Office to
obtain a copy.
For additional information on the Colorado Rule of Professional
Conduct 1.15 compliance only, please contact COLTAF at (303) 863-7221.
SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT ACT
Pursuant to §26-13-126(3), 8 C.R.S. (1997) and C.R.C.P.
227, an attorney must verify on an annual basis that they are not delinquent
with respect to a court-ordered obligation to pay child support. The annual
registration form requires attorneys to certify if they are under an order
to pay child support, and if so, whether they are in compliance or not
in compliance with the order. This is located on the back of the bottom
portion of the registration statement that is to be mailed in with the
Attorneys that fail to comply with the certification set
forth on the registration statement will be referred to the Colorado Supreme
Court Office of Attorney Regulation.
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE
Pursuant to C.R.C.P. 227 an attorney must verify on an annual basis that if they are engaged in the private practice of law, whether the attorney is currently covered by professional liability insurance and, if so, whether the attorney intends to maintain insurance during the time the attorney is engaged in the private practice of law.
Attorneys that fail to comply with the certification set forth on the registration statement will be referred to the Colorado Supreme Court Office of Attorney Regulation.
To view the strike and add Rule - Click Here.
PRACTICE RULE (LAW STUDENT EXTERNS)
Law students who have completed at least two years of law
school may appear in court pursuant to C.R.C.P. 226.5 (effective June 2011). You must file a certification
from the Dean or Registrar of the law school that you have completed two
years of law school and are of good moral character.
You may obtain, from our office, a blank form for the Dean's
certification. You will also need to provide the name of the supervising
attorney and the anticipated graduation date. You must be working for
an attorney in the public sector, i.e., the Public Defender's Office or
District Attorney's Office; or on behalf of a non profit legal services organization where poor or legally underserved persons receives legal advice. If you have any questions concerning the group
or organization you would be working for, you must call our office.
To view a copy of the Rule 226.5, Click Here.
Certificate of Eligibility for Law Student Externship Practice
REQUIRED COURSE ON PROFESSIONALISM PURSUANT TO C.R.C.P. 201.14(4)
Please note the following requirement found in Rule 201.14 of the Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure which governs the oath of admission of all attorneys licensed to practice law in the State of Colorado.
Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure
Rule 201.14. Oath of Admission
(4) Class A applicants who are admitted on motion pursuant to Rule 201.3 and single-client applicants who are admitted pursuant to Rule 222 shall have six months following admission to take the required course on professionalism required by Rule 201.14(3).
Source: (3) added and adopted March 21, 2003, effective July 2, 2003; entire rule amended and effective December 4, 2003.
For information on taking the course on professionalism, contact the Colorado Supreme Court Continuing Legal Education Office (CLE) at (303) 928-7771 -or- the Colorado Bar Association CLE at 303-860-0608 -or- James Coyle, Colorado Supreme Court Regulation Counsel at 303-928-7780.