Colorado Supreme Court
Office of Attorney Regulation Counsel
Promoting Professionalism. Protecting the Public.
Colorado Lawyers Assistance Program
Colorado Lawyer Mentoring Program
Begin 2023 Colorado Attorney Registration Process
If you have any questions, please consult the Electronic Registration FAQs
Paying Your Registration Fees
On or before February 28 of each year, every attorney admitted to practice in Colorado (including judges, inactive attorneys and those admitted to practice under a limited license or authority) must file a registration statement and pay a fee as set by the Colorado Supreme Court. A reminder notice with information on paying and filing your registration will be sent out prior to the renewal period. If you have not notified Attorney Registration of your current contact information, including email address, you may not receive the notice in a timely manner. It is your responsibility to update your contact information, including email address. If you have not received the reminder notice by the first week in January, please contact our office immediately. Late fees will apply to late payments regardless. You are required to pay and complete your registration including all compliance statements.
Failure to pay and complete the registration statement by February 28 will result in a $50.00 late fee. Failure to pay and complete the registration statement by March 31 will result in an additional $100.00 late fee. You may be suspended from the practice of law if you fail to comply by April 30. There is an additional $100.00 reinstatement fee if you are suspended and then seek to have your suspension lifted.
The annual fee for active status is $325.00 or $190.00 based on the date of your first admission to practice law in any state. These fees become due on February 28 following your admission to practice law in Colorado. The fee for inactive status for attorneys under the age of 65 is $130.00. Inactive attorneys over the age of 65 are exempt from paying registration fees; however, all inactive attorneys must complete and file a registration statement. All fees are subject to change by order of the Colorado Supreme Court.